Joint Statement

A joint statement by the Nordic-Baltic 8++ countries (Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Sweden and the United Kingdom) on further action to counter Russia's 'shadow fleet'.

We are united in our shared determination to take further coordinated steps to disrupt and deter Russia's shadow fleet, confront the risks it poses, work together to prevent illegal operations and raise Russia's costs.

The shadow fleet presents risks to the environment, maritime safety and security, international seaborne trade, as well as international maritime law and standards. It also works to circumvent our sanctions and soften their impact.

As Coastal States located around the sensitive waters of the Baltic and North Seas, we are particularly exposed to those risks. At the same time, our respective geographies enable us to expose malign maritime activity and confront the risks it poses, consistent with our respective legal systems and international law.

To that end, the United Kingdom, Denmark, Sweden, Poland, Finland and Estonia are tasking respective maritime authorities to request relevant proof of insurance from suspected shadow vessels as they pass through the English Channel, the Danish Straits of the Great Belt, the Sound between Denmark and Sweden, and the Gulf of Finland.

Information collected by the participating states, including relating to those vessels that choose not to respond to requests, will be assessed and acted upon together with our international partners.

Those shadow fleet vessels and their enablers should be in no doubt: we are determined to hold them to account – including through sanctions-related action – for the risks they pose and the support they are providing to Russia's war against Ukraine.