The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States.

PC.DEL/597/21 26 April 2021

**ENGLISH** only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No. 1310 Vienna, 22 April 2021

## EU Statement on the constitutional reform in Kyrgyzstan

The European Union took note of the referendum for a new constitution held on 11 April 2021 in the Kyrgyz Republic.

According to independent observers, the referendum on the constitution was orderly and well-administered, but there were also reports about the misuse of administrative resources and violations of campaigning procedures in favour of adopting the new constitution.

The European Union regrets that the process leading to a far reaching amendment of the constitution missed the opportunity to have an inclusive dialogue involving Civil Society and all interested citizens. This would have been an important element also with a view of the upcoming implementation of the new constitution and its broader acceptance by the population.

It is important that the legislation implementing the new constitution will take into consideration the recommendations of the 19 March 2021 Joint Legal Opinion on the draft constitution by ODIHR and the Council of Europe's Venice Commission, as well as the Kyrgyz Republic's international commitments. The Joint Legal Opinion had concluded that some provisions of the draft legislation threaten the necessary balance of power and the protection of individual freedoms, essential to democracy and the rule of law.

The European Union will continue to support the Kyrgyz Republic in advancing its reform agenda and addressing the challenges it faces.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, SERBIA\* and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as CANADA align themselves with this statement.

\* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.