The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States.

PC.DEL/1500/21/Rev.1 28 September 2021

ENGLISH only



OSCE Permanent Council No. 1336 Vienna, 23 September 2021

EU Interpretative Statement

- In connection with the Permanent Council decision on the OSCE Observer
 Mission to two Russian checkpoints on the Russian-Ukrainian border
 PC.DD/21/21, the European Union would like to make the following interpretative
 statement under paragraph IV.1(A)6 of the OSCE Rules of Procedure.
- Having joined consensus on the decision, the European Union deeply regrets the decision by the Russian Federation to not agree to an extension of the mandate of the Border Observation Mission to Gukovo and Donetsk beyond 30 September.
- 3. We reiterate that the Border Observation Mission (BOM) has been an important confidence-building measure informing the participating States about the situation on the ground and reporting about movements over this border, which is unfortunately not under the control of the Ukrainian government. Together with SMM and the Trilateral Contact Group, BOM has been an important instrument in the OSCE toolbox for resolving this conflict.
- 4. The European Union's views on the vital importance of the monitoring of the Ukraine-Russia State border are well known. Effective and comprehensive monitoring of this border is an integral part of the Minsk agreements, which include a commitment to reinstate full Ukrainian control over its sovereign territory, including over its entire international border. We have repeatedly called for an expansion of BOM in size and to all checkpoints along the Russia-Ukraine

state border and the areas between. The fact that Russia, as a party to the conflict, host country of this Mission and a signatory of the Minsk agreements, has decided to end BOM confirms its lack of political will to contribute to the peaceful resolution of the conflict.

We request that this statement be attached to the decision and to the journal of the day.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, and ALBANIA*, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.