The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1501/21 27 September 2021

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1336 Vienna, 23 September 2021

EU statement on the State Duma, regional and local elections

FINAL (194 words)

- In connection to the State Duma, regional and local elections in the Russian Federation that took place on 17-19 September, we would like to draw your attention to the following Declaration by HRVP Borrell on 20 September:
- "The European Union regrets that Russia's decision to severely restrict the size and format of an international OSCE/ODIHR Election Observation Mission prevented its deployment.
- 3. The EU takes note of independent and reliable sources reporting serious violations.
- 4. In the run-up to the elections, there was an increased crackdown on opposition politicians, civil society organisations and independent media outlets, as well as journalists. This resulted in the limitation of the choice for Russian voters and their ability to get full and accurate information about candidates.
- 5. The EU reiterates its deep concerns over the continuous pattern of shrinking space for the opposition, civil society and independent voices across Russia. The EU calls on Russia's leadership to reverse these negative developments.
- 6. The Russian Federation should abide by the commitments it has assumed within the framework of the OSCE, the UN and the Council of Europe in terms of protection of human rights and democratic values".



EUROPEAN UNION

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ALBANIA*, the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, GEORGIA and CANADA align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.