

European Union

Statement on the occasion of the IAEA Board of Governors

Vienna, 9-13 March 2020

Agenda item 6(a): The conclusion of safeguards agreements and of additional protocols

Madame Chair,

- 1. I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union. [The following countries align themselves with this statement: Turkey[§], the Republic of North Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland*, Serbia*, Albania*, Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Liechtenstein*, Norway*, Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Andorra and San Marino.]
- 2. The EU welcomes the decision by the State of Eritrea to conclude its NPT Safeguards Agreement together with an Additional Protocol (AP), which will enter into force upon signature by the representative of its government and the Agency.
- 3. The EU believes that only the AP provides the Agency with the necessary tools to provide credible assurance of the absence of undeclared nuclear material and activities. Universal adherence to both Comprehensive Safeguards Agreement and AP will strengthen the non-proliferation regime and contribute to further enhancing international peace and security.
- 4. The EU welcomes the efforts of the Secretariat and Member States to work towards universalisation of the AP. APs for all EU Member States have been in force since 2004. The EU considers that an AP, together with a CSA, represents the current verification standard based on Article III of the NPT. The EU will support a discussion to promote the conclusion of APs in the lead up to the 2020 NPT Review Conference.

Thank you, Madam Chair.

[§] Candidate Country

^{*} Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania as well as potential Candidate Country Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

[†] Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein are members of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.