

## **European Union**

## EU Statement on Agenda item 7: Any other Business (Application of Safeguards in the Middle East)

## Board of Governors International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Vienna, 24-26 November 2021

Mr. Chairman,

I have the honour to speak on behalf of the European Union. The following countries align themselves with this statement: [Turkey<sup>§</sup>, the Republic of North Macedonia\*, Montenegro\*, Serbia\*, Albania\*, Bosnia and Herzegovina\*, Iceland\*, Liechtenstein\*, Norway\*, Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia and San Marino.]

It remains a strategic priority of the EU to support peace and stability in the entire Middle East. The EU remains committed to the implementation of the Resolution on the Middle East adopted at the 1995 Review Conference of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT). The EU continues to strongly support the Action Plan on the Middle East agreed at the 2010 NPT Review Conference and reaffirms its full support for the establishment of a zone free of nuclear weapons and all other weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems in the Middle East, as agreed by NPT States Parties. We believe that the path for action as set out in the 2010 Action Plan remains the most promising basis on which to proceed.

As stated before, the EU is of the view that such zones should be established on the basis of arrangements freely arrived at among all the States of the region concerned, in accordance with the international guidelines and principles for the establishment of nuclear-weapon-free-zones.

The EU is encouraged by the political declaration of the UN Conference on 20 November 2019 on the establishment of a Middle East zone free of nuclear weapons and other weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems. We strongly encourage all stakeholders, and especially the States of the region, to engage in meaningful consultations in order to build an inclusive and consensus-based process. Any proposal that forces the issue risks failure.

Thank you, Mr. Chairman.

<sup>§</sup> Candidate Country

<sup>\*</sup> Candidate Countries the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania as well as potential Candidate Country Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

<sup>\*</sup> Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway are members of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.