The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/862/22 10 June 2022

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1377 Vienna, 9 June 2022

EU Statement on the Constitutional Referendum in Kazakhstan

- The EU takes note of the Constitutional Referendum in Kazakhstan, which took place on Sunday, 5 June. With this referendum, the people of Kazakhstan supported important constitutional amendments aimed at strengthening democratic institutions and the rule of law in the country.
- 2. The EU welcomes the political reform process announced by President Tokayev on March 16 in addition to the socio-economic reforms initiated after the tragic January events. We welcome the decision to consult the population directly on the planned constitutional changes. It will also be important to include the broader population in the process of implementing new regulations. Furthermore, the EU welcomes the decision to invite ODIHR to monitor the Referendum. Looking ahead, it will be crucial for Kazakhstan to implement fully the OSCE/ODIHR recommendations.
- 3. Kazakhstan is an important and valuable partner for the European Union. Together, we work to uphold the commitments of our Enhanced Partnership and Cooperation Agreement, including the right to freedom of expression and the rights to peaceful assembly and association, and developing our connectivity, trade and cooperation. We will continue to support Kazakhstan's reform and modernisation processes, as well as democracy, rule of law, human rights, stability and inclusivity in the country, for the benefit of all its people.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.