ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1349 Vienna, 16 December 2021

EU Statement on the latest political developments in Bosnia and Herzegovina

- 1. The European Union strongly regrets the 10 December decision by the Republika Srpska National Assembly to begin the drafting of legislation to create parallel institutions in the Republika Srpska. We reiterate our firm support for the territorial integrity, sovereignty and unity of Bosnia and Herzegovina and we stress the importance of the full functionality of institutions at all levels.
- 2. Members of the governing coalition in the Republika Srpska must be aware that continuing this dead end path of challenging the Dayton framework is damaging the economic prospects of the entity, threatening the stability of the country and the entire region, and jeopardising Bosnia and Herzegovina's future within the EU. Increased tensions and the blocking of functionality of the institutions will restrict economic opportunities available to citizens, deter investment, and distract from the fight against corruption. Bosnia and Herzegovina political leaders have opportunities to resume dialogue and to urgently find a resolution.
- 3. We join the call of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office Linde, the OSCE Secretary General Schmid, the EU Special Representative Sattler, the High Representative Schmidt, and others and we call on all political leaders to build mutual trust by immediately abandoning divisive and escalatory rhetoric and return to the state institutions in full capacity, where they also can talk about issues of disagreement. The EU stands ready to facilitate constructive dialogue in view of refocusing on key reforms important for the citizens and for the EU accession path.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, and ALBANIA*, the EFTA countries ICELAND and LIECHTENSTEIN, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC of MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and ANDORRA align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.